via Decades TV Network: DECADES will celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the premiere of The Brady Bunch with a Very Brady Weekend Binge starting Saturday 9/28

September 5, 2019 — Chicago, IL — DECADES television network will celebrate the 50th anniversary and enduring pop culture legacy of America’s favorite blended family with “A Very Brady 50th Anniversary,” a weekend binge of episodes and TV movies from The Brady Bunch library. The 42-hour marathon runs from Saturday, Sept. 28 starting at 1pm ET 10am PT through Monday, Sept. 30 at 7am ET 4pm PT and will include select episodes of The Brady BunchThe Brady Brides and The Bradys, plus the made-for-TV movies Growing Up Brady (2000), The Brady Brides (1981), The Brady 500 (1990), Bradys on the Move (1990), The Bradys: Big Kids, Big Problems (1990) and The Brady Bunch in the White House (2002).

Sherwood Schwartz, acclaimed television producer and creator of hit sitcom Gilligan?s Island, developed the concept for The Brady Bunch after reading a 1966 article that revealed that 30 percent of U.S. marriages, at that time, had a child or children from a previous marriage. Sparked by the massive box office success of 1968 film Yours, Mine and Ours, which followed a similar premise, The Brady Bunch premiered on ABC on Sept. 26, 1969.

With a perfectly curated ensemble cast of Robert Reed (Mike Brady), Florence Henderson (Carol Brady), Maureen McCormick (Marcia Brady), Eve Plumb (Jan Brady), Susan Olsen (Cindy Brady), Barry Williams (Greg Brady), Christopher Knight (Peter Brady), Mike Lookinland (Bobby Brady) and Ann B. Davis as beloved maid Alice, the series took a warm and humorous look at the struggles of blending two families and the awkward rites of passage of adolescence. The landmark series was one of the first to use the ?multi-dynamic image technique? in the opening credits where the cast head shots were arranged in a 3×3 grid, now commonly referred to as “the Brady Bunch effect.” Throughout its five year run, the series attracted notable guest stars including Desi Arnaz Jr., Davy Jones, Rita Wilson, Marion Ross, Joe Namath of the New York Jets, Deacon Jones of the Los Angeles Rams, and Don Drysdale and Wes Parker of the Los Angeles Dodgers.

The Brady Bunch found continued success in syndication, where it was often scheduled weekday afternoons, allowing for younger generations to latch on to the series and the daily adventures of the Brady kids. Its syndication success led to numerous spin-offs and sequels that featured all or most of the original cast, and followed the Brady kids as they grew older, got married and started families of their own. These rarely-seen specials will be included in the DECADES weekend binge, allowing audiences to relive the iconic moments of TV’s groovy first family.

After 50 years, several spin-offs, a variety show, an animated series, a stage play and even recording albums, The Brady Bunch remains a part of the American cultural zeitgeist. In 2018, the fictional “Brady Home” was listed with an asking price of $1.9 million. Lifestyle network HGTV purchased the home, outbidding seven others, and will air A Very Brady Renovation later this month.

A Very Brady 50th Anniversary: DECADES Binge Schedule

Saturday 9/28 at 1pm ET 10am PT  thru Sunday 9/29 at 7am ET 4am PT: Select episodes of The Brady Bunch

Sunday 9/29 at 7am ET  4am PT thru Noon ET 9am PT: Select episodes of The Brady Brides

Sunday 9/29 at Noon ET 9am PT through 6pm ET 3pm PT: Select episodes of The Bradys

Sunday 9/29 at 6pm ET 3pm PT: Growing Up Brady (2000)

Sunday 9/29 at 8pm ET 5pm PT: The Brady Bunch in the White House (2002)

Sunday 9/29 at 10pm ET 7pm PT: The Brady Brides (1981)

Sunday 9/29 at Mid ET 9pm PT: The Brady 500 (1990)

Sunday 9/29 at 2am ET 11am PT: Bradys on the Move (1990)

Monday 9/30 at 4am ET 1am PT: The Bradys: Big Kids, Big Problems (1990)

Viewers can see the complete DECADES network schedule and find out where to watch by visiting www.decades.com.

About Weigel Broadcasting Co.

Weigel Broadcasting Co. is a family-owned media company based in Chicago, Illinois. In addition to producing the new series Collector?s Call, the company owns and operates national television networks, as well as local broadcast stations throughout the country. Weigel is the leader in the multicast television network space with “MeTV,” Memorable Entertainment Television, the number-one rated and distributed multicast network, as well as the “Movies!” Network in cooperation with the Fox Television Stations, the “DECADES” Network, the “H&I” Network and the ?Start TV? Network in association with the CBS Television Stations. Weigel’s local stations include CBS, ABC, The CW, MyNet and Telemundo network affiliates. Weigel and its affiliate companies broadcast network and independent television stations in Los Angeles, Chicago, Seattle, St. Louis, Cedar City-St. George, Milwaukee, South Bend and Rockford. Weigel is also the creator of the nationally syndicated music format MeTV FM. For more information on Weigel, visit: https://www.weigelbroadcasting.com/

Please follow and like us:
This entry was posted in Classic Shows, Film Stars, Next Show, Radio Stations, Television Star and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.